Story Exploration: The Neverending Story

Story Type: Movie

Overall Rating: 2 of 5

Description in one word: Weird

Description in One Sentence: An attempt to show the wonder of story and the need for hope in the world with 80s music and creepy animatronics.

A couple months ago, my sister and I watched The Neverending Story for the first time. As soon as the opening credits began we knew we were in for something weird. As the film progressed, we weren’t disappointed. There were a lot of “What?”, “Huh?”, “Aaaaahhhh!” and “Whaaaaaaaaaaaaat?”

Image Source

In the end, I was left feeling deeply disappointed. Because this film had so much potential. It dealt with two themes that are deeply important to me, it had a book seller and a boy who had read Lord of the Rings and 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea at an extraordinarily young age, and it tried very hard to give a sense of wonder to the audience.

And maybe, when it first came out, it did accomplish that for people. I could say it’s just that I’m stuck in a CGI generation and I need more lifelike effects to make me believe. But I don’t think that is so. The 1970s BBC Chronicles of Narnia films are some of my favorites ever. They were my first enterance into Narnia, and though there are no stellar effects like in today’s movies, I believe they do a phenominal job in instilling wonder into the beholder.

So what is it about The Neverending Story that made it lack?

Image Source

Throughout the film, I felt disconnected and weirded out. Even though pity and empathy and even interest was established in the main character, once he started reading The Neverending Story, the disconnect began. Everything was so strange, foreign, and rather distracting. The MC of the book was, honestly, annoying. And then, when the ending occurred, my sister just sat there saying, “Wait… huh? What just happened? I don’t get it. I’m confused.”

Perhaps that was it. Confusion. Perhaps if the makers had narrowed down the phenominal, and focused more on the writing instead of freaky creatures it would have presented it’s golden themes in the manner they should have been.

Despite the weirdness, however, we will be watching the second movie. Because, well, we’re weird too.

Image Source

6 thoughts on “Story Exploration: The Neverending Story

  1. Nadine Brandes says:

    LOL. I used to LOVE this movie as a kid, then when I was a teenager I grabbed my little sis and said, “You’ve GOT to watch this!” Time to reminisce and introduce her to the awesomeness.

    We were about halfway through and I realized…This is weird. And boring. And weird. And…huh? When it ended, my sis said, “That was….weird.” Haven’t watched it since. LOL!

    Did you know it’s based off a book? I wonder if the book’s any better.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Brielle says:

    Greetings,
    Thank you for your lovely comment on my site. I really appreciate you liking my costume work. πŸ™‚ It also made my day knowing your like your dress I made πŸ™‚ Thanks for saying you liked the Arwen dress as well. Your blog looks lovely! I like the title/header image especially. I have actually never seen the NeverEnding Story, but I have heard people talk about it lots. Have a magical day!

    Like

    • Adrienne Niceley says:

      It is so great hearing from you, Brielle! Thanks so much for taking the time to stop by πŸ™‚ It made my day! Or rather night, as it is late now πŸ˜„ And I’m super glad you like the header image! A friend graciously whipped that up for me with his magical skillz of awesome. I am quite proud ^_^

      Like

Leave a Reply

