Adventures in Short Stories

I’ve never been very good at writing short stories. My attempts always stretched into something more along the lines of a novella. But this year I’ve made it a goal to get better at the art of short stories.

So far I’ve penned and edited two such tales. But I’ve also discovered a lovely resource that has me writing short bits and pieces every day.

Enter 642 Things to Write About

img_1950

Photo Credit: Charlotte Anderson, Spectral Star Photography

This book has looked so amazing for a very long time. But I never bought it because I didn’t want to spend $15 on it unjustifiably. But then, I had the brilliant idea of buying it for my wedding guestbook! And then in the spots left over David and I could have some fun.

Well not many people wrote in it at the wedding, leaving plenty of space for my creative ideas. Note I said mine…. I kind of took the book over and David hasn’t used it at all…. Oops.

Here’s what I’ve discovered through my daily use of this book.

  1. It’s completely worth the $15.
  2. I wish I’d bought it sooner.
  3. It is really beneficial for a writer. Every day I’m forced to think creatively, choose words wisely, and keep my word count at a minimum. It’s helping me to write short, and also has given birth to a lot of great ideas I’m going to be using for other longer projects.

I highly recommend this book for anyone looking to enhance their writing life, or anyone looking for a really fun activity. (And it does make a pretty unique wedding guest book.)

Do you have any writing resources that you’ve been using this year? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

