Divergent: A Pleasant Surprise

First off, I know this is old news. These books have been out for quite a while now, but I’m not giving a review or anything, just gushing.

I have avoided Divergent since the movies came out and everything I saw about them just made it look like this story was all about steamy teen romance set in a dystopian world trying to be the Hunger Games.

I was wrong.

Divergent sucked me in so hard, that I had it read in two days. I was delighted with this book. So much so I had to write about it here! It is so rare for me to find a YA novel that I really enjoy, that has a romance that doesn’t go into places I don’t care to tread. Really, I am still so impressed with the story and the characters and the romance without sex, and and and…. This book just made me happy (aside from being sad about sad things at the end).

So, there’s a little super delayed fangirl reaction to one of my new favorite YA books.

Is there a book you read thinking you’d be disappointed, and were happily surprised? I’d love to hear about it!

5 thoughts on “Divergent: A Pleasant Surprise

  1. sparksofember says:

    I haven’t read the books. I have seen the movies, though I didn’t like them much. I hear they changed A LOT of details so I’m sure the books are a thousand times better. I also hear they do sleep together in the last book but it’s done in such a mild, vague way that many readers aren’t clear that it happened at all.

    I just finished Terra Soul by S.J. Abraham and I wasn’t expecting to like it very much and now I can’t stop raving about it. 🙂 Much better to be happily surprised than unexpectedly disappointed. (Which is what Doon by Lorie Langdon and Carey Corp did to me. So severely disappointed…)

    Like

    • Adrienne Joy Niceley says:

      I’ll be interested to read the rest and see ^_^

      I have heard of that – sounds like I need to check it out! Aw, I’m sorry to hear you were disappointed with Doon – I really loved that book.

      Like

      • sparksofember says:

        I’ve never quite cared for the Brigadoon concept but I was really excited to read the book. So I’m having a hard time sorting out why I didn’t like it exactly. But I know the insta-love bothered me, though sometimes I don’t mind the whole soulmate idea so it just wasn’t done quite right for me. And too many important things happened off-screen and made me question their decisions/actions because we weren’t informed about them until later. (Like she seemed to jump to a decision about the book without any concrete evidence and then chapters later you find out she did have concrete evidence.)

        Like

  2. Adrienne Joy Niceley says:

    That’s understandable. I crazy love Brigadoon, so that was a huge draw for me. I also read the book at a time I was starving for fiction and stories and hope for romance. So I just enjoyed it as lighthearted and fun. And stayed up until 4 in the morning reading it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

