Tale as Old as Time

I sat on my parents’ bed, the time to leave for church fast approaching, watching Belle and Beast as they glided across the floor in their iconic first dance.

Something stirred inside of me then. Something big and beautiful that I didn’t have words for. As I put on my coat a short while later, about to head out the door, I realized that there was a word to describe it: Romance. That feeling, that pull, that longing for it to be me someday. Despite Ariel and Eric deciding my marital goals at an early age (I would of course be marrying a Prince named Eric and changing my name to match the Mermaid’s), it was Belle and Beast who first conveyed to my young heart what a beautiful romance looked like.

I sat in the theater, tears welling in my eyes, hugging my husband’s arm, watching Belle and Beast as they glided across the floor in their first dance. Emma Thompson sang of the “Tale as old as Time”. The room around them burst into sparkles of light as they spun around.

Something stirred inside me then. A deeper understanding now of the type of love that is worth everything, and, perhaps, a breath of a future in which my daughter would watch this scene and feel an awakening inside of her. Perhaps she will grow up to draw inspiration from this story for her wedding. Perhaps I will watch her twirl around a room with her love.

 

Yes, Beauty and the Beast is a Tale as old as Time.

But more so is what it represents.

2 thoughts on “Tale as Old as Time

  1. sparksofember says:

    I loved the movie, especially Beast’s new song. It’s my favorite Disney animation and now my favorite live-adaptation, too. Honestly the big thing that bothers me is we get so used to his Beast appearance and we get no time to get used to his human appearance. I’m going to have to write a retelling that fixes this somehow. (I can add this to the modern retelling of The Nutcracker and the Mouse King I’ve been planning, too.)

    Have you seen this? (https://storify.com/rj_anderson/the-beast-is-not-your-boyfriend)

    Like

Leave a Reply

