Books of the Month: April Edition

Here we are again looking over the books I read in a month. I’m afraid the number is not as impressive as last time’s, but life has a habit of sucking reading time away. Or is that Facebook that does that? Hmm….

Books read this month:

  1. Fable Weaver by Carlie Gernhart
  2. The House on the Gulf by Margaret Peterson Haddix
  3. Claim to Fame by Margaret Peterson Haddix
  4. Running Out of Time by Margaret Peterson Haddix

Yes, another Haddix month. I mean, when they are all on the shelf together and you’re working through reading all on that shelf it’s kind of unavoidable. But I digress.

IMG_8300

Favorite Book of the Month: Claim to Fame

Why?  I think it was the most well written, and you can really see how Haddix grew as an author when you compare Running out of Time to Claim to Fame.  I also was intrigued by the concept, how she wove the story together, and the character of Lindsey. While this was I think aimed a bit more to YA, it wasn’t so focused on what YA normally is focused on and almost had a bit of a Mid Grade feel. But I actually enjoyed that balance of styles. The character of Lindsey was one of the best MCs of Haddix’s that I have read.

Least Favorite Book of the Month: Running Out of Time

Why? It wasn’t that this book was bad in any way, it was actually a great Mid Grade/almost YA read. But there are some parts that are a little disjointed and felt that they didn’t flow quite as well. Also some telling that I ended up skimming over so I could get back to the action and interesting bits.

A Quick Look at the Other Books: 

Fable Weaver

  • Rating: 3 stars
  • Thoughts: Finally, after seven years of being an OYANer, I have read Fable Weaver! This novel was written by a fellow One Year Adventure Novel student – one of the original live class group – and was published by Clear Water Press as an example of a student’s exceptional work.  For her first novel, Carlie did an incredible job! The story is imaginative, fun, quirky, and emotional.
  • Favorite Moment: Meeting Merlin

The House on the Gulf

  • Rating: 4 stars
  • Thoughts: This novel was actually really really good. It just about tied with Claim to Fame as my favorite of this month. What I really loved about this story was how Haddix really transported me to Florida. I could feel the heat, see the houses, smell the baked goods of the neighbor lady.  And the mystery was really intriguing and took twists I did not expect. Overall this one was a real winner.
  • Favorite Moment: When all the pieces of the puzzle came together and you just sit there in shock and horror at the mess.

And that wraps things up for April! I’m not really sure I’ll have much of an impressive post at all for May. I’ll be lucky to finish the one book I’m into right now.  I’ll be wrapped up in story, but they will be stories of my own creation. May is writing month, and I’m very excited about that. But don’t worry! I’ll come back strong in reading after that.

Did you read any books in April? What was your favorite?

Leave a Reply

